Disability Benefits?

I'm wondering what experience you've all had with applying for disability benefits for adult ADEM? I saw a previous discussion about help for people with "rare diseases" and applying for disability but the link wasn't working for me.

One piece of advice I got about reducing stress for my sister when she wakes up and begins the rehabilitation process has really been on my mind. Prior to the ADEM my sister handled the majority of the household finances and the loss of her income, for however long, is/will be a major stressor. Unfortunately she does not have short-term disability benefits and though there have been some generous donations from family/friends I feel a more dependable option needs to be explored so my sister doesn't wake up into any more financial chaos than is necessary. I do have some experience navigating the system (I'm a social worker), but disability benefits are definitely not my area of expertise so I would love to hears some tips or experiences...

The best advice I can give is, apply as soon as possible. As I live in the United States, it didn't start until 5 months after I was disabled, there is a waiting period. But it takes quite a long time for them to make their decision.

I have been on Social Security Disability for almost 20 years now. It was actually a fairly painless process.

Good Luck

Thanks for sharing miafko. I’m in Ohio and went for my apt the beginning of January for just the sit down where they asked for my info. After I was done with that, they said my info would be sent to Columbus for the review of my medical files.