ADEM and the workplace

Hi there :slight_smile: My name is Emily and I’m new to this support group. I was diagnosed with ADEM last year. I was 20 years old in my last semester of college when in it happened. But now that I’ve graduated and started looking for jobs I’ve been asked to voluntarily self identify and it’s that disability question that gets me tripped up on. My parents say I should answer no, and trust me I understand that there are people in worst situations than me. But I also feel like that’s not completely right to answer no because they ask for medical conditions as well. So what I’m asking is what is your take on it?

2 Likes

Hey Emily,
‘Disability’ is a very subjective word. Everybody from employers to government to insurers can all have a differing definition. Employers often define it as anything that would impede you in the performance of you duties. Government often will define it as a % of impairment in your abilities and insurers, well, insurers can have a whole range of measures depending on how much it could conceivably cost them or save them. Obviously if it saves them $$$$ the measure is quite low, But if it could cost them the measures can be huge.

In this case where you are being asked by a potential employer and you are being asked to voluntarily self identify, you are not being asked for a medical definition but more your own view/opinion. With a former employer I was in a similar position and although at the time I had suffered from a brain injury years prior, the impact on my role was minimal, so my answer was ‘No’. But to the question of medical conditions the answer was ‘Yes’. We can all have medical conditions, but those conditions do not necessarily equate to a disability. With some conditions we can have an impairment but, again, if the impairment does not limit us in performing a role then I would not be considering it a disability.