So relieved to be home! What a Christmas! Xxx

Hi, I’m messaging you all from my comfy chair having eaten cheese on toast and a cup of tea - who knew these little things would become so great after spending 7 weeks in hospital! So in December I went into hospital and have now been home for a week - the doctors were undecided about my ‘label’: encephalitis, NMO (I tested positive for MOG antibody) and various other names were discussed but ADEM was what is written on my discharge letter and the advice to get as far with physio/rehab as I can in the next 5 weeks and we will then re-discuss what has happened to me and my label.

So I suppose I’m writing this to ask for your recovery stories; is it unrealistic of me to be aiming to return to full time work at some point - fatigue kept on being highlighted to me in hospital! I was a full time teacher with management responsibilities, 2 young children and I didn’t look after myself enough - I am planning on making positive lifestyle changes (so far I’ve looked into yoga -when I’ve got control over my legs) but, at 37 years young, would really like some people to just let me know what’s happened to them - I’ve googled lots but not found out too much actual information!

Also this MOG result is confusing me (and my consultant) and I’m not sure how I would be being diagnosed with NOM over ADEM!

Anyway, really wanted to just say hi - I’ve been reading some of your posts and have already found this group immensely helpful!!

Thanks for reading - Clare :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Your and my story is almost identical. I was struck down early December of 2009. 5 weeks in various hospitals and a nursing home.

Everyone agreed it was an adverse reaction to my flu shot taken in October. No more vaccines for me ever they say!

The VARs fund handked by the US Treasury Department, awarded me an “entitlement.” Thank God because I was forced to retire from teaching.