Things lost

You know, I lost a lot of things with the onset of ADEM: brain power, energy, job, ability to work, etc, but the thing I miss most is a friend lost. She was my boss, and I was a college teacher. I believe the ADEM was starting even up to a year before it hit with all its mighty force and put me in the hospital. (We know it was working at least 5 months before because of mystery pain in my hand that eventually was one of the extreme symptoms...)

Anyway, apparently I had stopped planning my classes (I'd been teaching most of them for years and had them down pat), and other things. I was speaking my mind with extreme force (something I NEVER did before - didn't even cuss! They used to joke about that...) And when I ended up in the hospital, I left her in a lurch. No subs, no lesson plans, nothing. And I had no ability to communicate for months. Left her scrambling.

And she hasn't spoken to me since. I've reached out twice (I think) with letters trying to explain, but to no avail.

I heard she got married yesterday. I'm so happy for her. And I miss her terribly.

Really, there's no one but you guys that might understand.

Thanks,

LauraK

Hi Laura,