New to group

I want to thank you for adding me. I am the mother of a 21 year old daughter who was diagnosed with ADEM 7/7/15. July 4 my daughter was transported to a small rural facility for severe dizziness, nausea, and vomiting. Upon arrival at the small facility she had a low potassium level. Usually with this information and her previous spinal surgeries for tethered spinal cord she was transferred to a higher level of care. Her neurosurgeon feel it was a leaking syrinx. One of her many spinal cord abnormalities. She was sent for her MRI and CT. She was at that point diagnosed with ADEM. She has been placed on large doses of solu-medrol her blood sugars are high and on a insulin sliding scale. She starts physical therapy for left sided weakness she has no feeling in her left foot. The nystagmus is still very sever. Being a flight paramedic I feel her treatment is appropriate from what I have read. My concerns at this point is for her deficits. I see so many conflicting numbers of recovery. Any info anyone can give me regarding recovery would be so appreciated. Thank you all again.

Hi Crystal, thanks for sharing your story. Recovery varies so widely from patient to patient so it's hard to generalize what to expect, but with you being a paramedic and already having an existing relationship with a neurosurgeon, it sounds like you are in good hands. My son benefited greatly from physical therapy and I hope your daughter does as well. Please keep us posted on your daughter's progress and let us know how we can support you. Ken

Crystal,