Help

I have been very depressed lately. My headaches are causing me to miss work and are straining my relationship with my wife. We'll get through it, but are having a rough go right now. I've had 9 IVIG treatments so far. Am I getting impatient?? When can I expect the treatments to start giving relief?

Hi Danny,

What is IVIG? I do understand it's easy to get impatient. I am that CONSTANTLY. My first neurologist told me I was fine and sent me back to work after only 3 months... Now I'm another year and 3 months in, and I'm still battling symptoms.

I'm seeing a counselor to help with this life-altering illness, and I've dragged my husband along a few times to help with communication and frustrations. Might be worth a shot.

I wish you the best,

LauraK

Each and every case is unique, like a fingerprint. I have been battling it for close to 2 years now. Things improve slowly but you need a lot of patience, maybe support if you have someone close. Anger, frustration, dizziness sometimes headaches are part of it. My wife gave up on the idea of supporting me as she can no longer accept the fact that I am not what I used to be. So I have to fight it alone. Work keeps me busy but I have to be careful with my short temper. Keep going strong. A healthy diet could be beneficial, (check Overcoming MS or Swank's diet) alongside a quiet and stress free life.

Hi Danny,

Depression seemed to encompass my 26 year old when he was struck down with ADEM. He was unable to walk or even go to the bathroom on his own for a week following the diagnosis. Then after several months, and severe weight gain due to medication, I saw him at his lowest. He would stay in his room all day, barely coming out to eat or go the washroom. He literally sat around for 15 months following the diagnosis, too tired and too depressed to do much more. He had been out of work, with no income during this entire period, which only contributed to financial stresses and more depression for him.